A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The author in the passage asserts that a nation should consider mandating all the students to study same national curriculum till they enter college. This assertion is too specific and cannot be generalized to all nation. Many nations in the world vary with size, population, ethnicity, its history, religion, etc. I believe author should consider these aspects before generalizing.

Consider the example of vast nations like United States or China or India. Internally these nations are diverse with respect to ethnicity, culture and religion. Each group has its own past and history associated with it. Having a common curriculum, may lead to making the students learn less about their history or may make them difficult to socialize among the same cultural people. To add one more reason, each population internally can have different level of intelligence and having common curriculum may become onerous to some students or vice-versa.

Another reason to state, not all students go to collage. Some of them drop off before the college to pursue agriculture or become entrepreneurs or businessman or etc. Common curriculum may not help students to grow enough to go out without knowing how the culture and people socialize in that area.

To take an example, consider United States, the nation is made up of sub states and each states has its own history on how it has formed and grown. California state have grown differently when compared to Texas or Oregon. California state and Oregon state weather conditions are very different. Students who drop out before college to take up agriculture will not have sufficient knowledge on respective state wise weather conditions. Weather conditions of California state is irrelevant to a person who does agriculture in Oregon state.

Albeit, some may argue that having a common curriculum would provide equal opportunities to all and would create a common platform for learning and may result is similar growth of students across the nation. Admittedly, this may make sense to smaller nations like Japan or Italy where population is not diverse but not for large nation.

To sum up, to author contention can be applied to specific nation depending on size. population, ethnicity, etc, however, it cannot be generalized for all nations.