Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal
role in private business matters.
Small businesses need many conditions in place in order to thrive: startup capital, a
suitable location and physical infrastructure, shrewd founders who can adapt to
changing circumstances—and also, of course, customers. While, in general, a
government’s hands-off policy towards small business can help small businesses by
freeing owners from time-consuming and cumbersome regulations, it is also the case
that some government regulations are needed to protect the public from unscrupulous
business owners. This type of regulation not only helps the public, but helps small
businesses thrive by increasing consumer confidence in small businesses, as well as
protecting ethical small businesses from unfair competition from businesses that
break the rules.
The United States has one of the highest rates of entrepreneurship in the developed
world—much higher than the rates in Western Europe. Why? In the U.S., virtually
anyone can start a business. For about $35, you can obtain a business license, and
then you’re officially in business. Hiring the first employee or two is also relatively
simple, and some workers can be paid as contractors, which eliminates the need to
administer payroll taxes. In contrast, in Western European nations where you need
employment papers (and sometimes references) to even open a simple checking
account, naturally, the regulations and paperwork needed to start an enterprise can be
daunting. Furthermore, laws intended to protect workers mean that it is virtually
impossible to fire anyone, which can be a real burden for a small business that simply
cannot survive with employees who are not up to the task. The lack of regulation in
the U.S. is a strong contributor to the burgeoning of small business in that country.
On the other hand, a pure laissez-faire policy would be disastrous for small
business, as well as for society. Should we allow small businesses to sell “health
cures” that actually make people sick, or car seats for babies that haven’t been
through safety testing? Of course not—even if requiring safety testing puts a burden
on small business. The safety of the public is important, to be sure, but public
confidence is also important if small businesses are to have any customers.
Furthermore, some small business owners (just
like large business owners) practice racial discrimination, sexual harassment, and other
abuses of workers, such as paying undocumented workers less than minimum wage. It is
important for human rights to curtail these abuses; it also helps small businesses for the
government to put a check on such practices, because then legitimate, ethically run
businesses can compete on a fair playing field.