Claim: People who say they are bored should look inward rather than blaming the circumstances in which they find themselves.

Reason: Boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self-motivation.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

All of the people may get bored for some time. Some people claim that it is their own fault t which contribute to the boredom as they lack of imagination and self-motivation instead of blaming for the whole environment. In my opinion, I think it is one of the factor, but there are other reasons relating to the circumstance.

Why people get bored? As they have nothing to do as well as nothing to think about. When do people get bored? Usually in their spare time. As worker have to work harder during the weekdays and students have to study in order to get a good grades. In other words, if people all have something to pursue, they wouldn't get bored. So without a goal, he or she may fall into boredom. In that case, motivation is leading people to strive to the success.

Imagination is a another key factor which influence people. Think about when we are young, we have plenty of time, and we don't have to do anything to make a living or pursuing higher remarks. The only thing we do is playing. Without kids around us, one of the common way to play is to pretend different people in the family, and then we can make a role-play, playing with ourselves. So it is imagination that stimulate us to get rid of boredom.

However, if people have the motivation and imagination, they will be also feel bored because the society will also play an important role in influencing a majority of people. For example, in the society which most of the money is concentrated in a few people, no matter how harder poor people work, they wouldn't get the chance to make enough money to make a living. In that case, they would lose the hope for life, and are reluctant to continue working. The whole society are pervaded with hopeless thought, everyone except for the richest person would refuse to work and then get bored.

In conclusion, there are many factors that may have contribution to the boredom. Lack of imagination and self-motivation is a possible aspects, but the environment is also a decisive factor.(360)