Claim: Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity.

Reason: Because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

History of something is as important as the present. Understanding it will allow, to improve upon the mistakes, or to get some completely new viewpoint on a particular problem which the ancient people had inorder to solve it. It sure does need brilliance but is best understood only through creative application of mind.

Firstly, being empathetic towards a historical figure/entity is very important. Putting ourselves in their shoes really helps understand, why a particular design of building was chosen. What was the motive behind a particular move done by a dictator be it for good or a bad reason. For e.g. in some Asian countries doctors criticized use of herbs to treat complex body problems but rather prescribed tablets with heavy side effects. But historians have identified that ancestors have indeed use these herbs to cure similar problems without having any harmful side effects. This knowledge indeed has branched from their needs, which we could simply apply in our times if we just take time to understand it. This requires a creative mind, think of all possibilities and to analyze why the ancient overlords did a particular move.

History is so profound, “how it happened” varies from person to person. This is because each person interprets a scenario in different ways. For e.g. An art with a profound meaning has always multiple meaning in the eyes of artistic minds. Each person paints their own mental picture from a description. This critical thinking requires us to be very creative, rather than just applying logic and being rational. Being irrational sometimes helps people to identify the hidden message which is not so conspicuous on plain sight.

However, there are lots of 3D designing tools that helps us visualize historical landmarks and scenes as a movie. But these technologies are only put to better use when the humans are creative and decides to do something with it. Storyboarding a historical act and publishing it to laymen will in fact improve their creative skills and in turn help them imagine how this is relevant to the current life.

To sum up, Logical thinking, Technological tools help making the job of understanding history easier but is of no use without creativity on the side. Other tools simply leverage on creativity to be of any good use.