In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The concept of a well-rounded person is very subjective and can differ from person to person. While each person has their own definition of well-rounded person, I strongly agree that college students who take courses in which they read poetry, novels, myth and other fictional literature are more intellectually and emotionally sound compared to those who didn’t.

Firstly, reading fictional stories, comics, poetry etc. increases creativity among the readers. Creativity is an important aspect of a student – their biggest weapon in the arsenal. With the induced creativity they can solve much complex problems. As a student there is always constant pressure to perform, deliver and manage things which skyrockets their stress levels making things much more menial. By having classes where students read poetry, novels etc. it could help them get their stress level down and in turn making them very efficient in other tasks.

Moreover, myths and other historical literature pieces can imbue valuable knowledge among students, by giving them fresh new perspective. Students could learn how simple solution solved some complex historical problems and can even use that as a base to current problems. Learning about new cultures also aids in the said process.

Knowledge while having fun would be the best way to teach any student. This could spark an interest among the students and making them to develop as a hobby. A far useful substitute compared to being buried in digital screens all day. Lastly, students could share their own stories with peers helping them to understand each other well – making a strong bond among peers.

However, not all students would equally appreciate the course. But it doesn’t have to be yet another “course”, Rather be something the students would enjoy. Say through an interactive session that is not very much limited to academics and marks.

To sum up, making Fictional literature mandate for colleges has a bit of a downside it sure does have a considerable positive effect on students and shaping them as an individual. The fun way to expand knowledge.