In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

College students prefer to study different mathematical and technical disciplines like medicine, engineering, sciences, economics, business as well as value oriented subjects like social sciences, literature, history and humanities. The purpose of specific discipline is unique. For example, an engineering degree indicates that a college graduate is qualified to be an engineer, a medical degree dictates a doctor in the making. On the other hand humanities degrees are in general value oriented. These degrees expose a student to knowledge that instills them with moral values and help develop a perspective on life. I agree with the recommendation that all the college students should be required to take courses based on poetry literature and mythology. Additionally, I think history, social sciences and other humanities courses can be added too.

Humanities and literature courses play the important role of exposing a student who is taking a technical or science oriented degree to the value oriented perspective on life. An engineering student can only learn how to build and repair. However, end of the day he will get a job and raise a family and live like any other humans. If he only has technical skills and not a rich value oriented perspective on life and society, he may find it difficult to fit in. In the workplace, one has to live harmoniously with everyone else. An appropriate perspective on the social life plays an important role in the harmony of the workplace which can be gained taking the said courses.

Additionally, there is an issue of professional ethics. If a doctor is not a moral person, he can end up in devious things violating the patient’s right and harming their health. It is pivotal to instill ethical values inside the scope of medical degree. I think exploring literature courses will expose one to humans and their struggles, making them connect with their patients ethically and more humanely.

If there is no moral values instilled in a huge portion of the population, we only get working robots that can act as a weapon of destruction and chaos. Everyone being unethical and abusing their power in the workplace will be highly degrading to the status of our society and it will collapse. The exploration of humanities and literature can play a pivotal role in preventing that.