Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

The claim states that learning from people who share the same views rather than from those who contradict with our views is more beneficial. Indisputably, a group of people who share the same views and ideologies will have less misunderstandings compared to a group with people with a variety of views. I, nevertheless, believe that the disagreement sheds new light on everyone’s opinions. Hence, I argue that one can learn much more from a person whose views are not in accord with that of the former.

First of all, I would like to point out that sometimes new ideas are necessary to see things differently. To illustrate, imagine a group of technical people trying to formulate a solution for a complex problem. One person in the group is the perspective that applying logic A will lead to better results than logic B. On the contrary, there is another person who disagrees with this opinion. If this person can elucidate the subtleties and nuances of the logic B over logic A that will help in bringing the project home, it would certainly widen the perspective of the other person in discord with him/her. Clearly, logic B is better. But if the group went ahead with logic A, ignoring the new idea, it wouldn’t lead to favorable results. This example shows how learning from people of contradicting opinions is more helpful than from people of same opinions.

Admittedly, there is some truth in the reason for the stated claim that disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning. Granted, dissension could lead to hostile relationships among peers, but accepting feedback professionally, in a constructive way does not engender stress and will certainly promote a growth mindset. For example, consider a team of two, one with 15 years of experience in a field and one who is just starting out. The beginner, not blinded by experience might have creative solutions that make use of latest techniques to solve a problem. The experienced person might be stubborn about the general practices followed and might dismiss the beginner’s approaches. Being entrenched about one’s beliefs this way, will limit one’s outlook and hence will hinder their growth. Instead, it is beneficial to stay around people who can challenge your ideas and bring fresh arguments to the table.

To further bolster my argument, consider one of the pioneers in technology advancements – Microsoft. In this company, a concept called “Diversity and Inclusion” is promoted a lot. What it means is that, while we host a people of diverse backgrounds, be it cultural, technical or area of expertise, it is important to make everyone feel inclusive. To make everyone feel inclusive, it is critical to make sure every voice is heard. Diversity will follow everywhere we go. In a professional setting, because of the diversity among colleagues, there are bound to be conflicts among their approaches. In such situations, it is absolutely necessary to show due respect and consideration to every opinion on the table. In the process of this exchange, the boundaries of each individual’s knowledge will be expanded. Hence proved the point that there is more to learn from people of opposing views than supporting views.

In conclusion, how we handle and react to disagreement is what decides whether discord if conducive or not. Adopting a growth mindset and cultivating a feedback environment in a group where your peers are constantly challenging your established beliefs is a much better way to learn and grow than being obstinate about your stance.