The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The claim states that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership is to instill a sense of cooperation and not competition in them. Although cultivating a sense of cooperation can result in good relationships, I, nonetheless, believe that a person should inculcate both sense of cooperation and competition in order to achieve his/her goal for real. Thus, I disagree with the statement that young people need only sense of cooperation and not competition.

First, I would like to point out a few advantages of sense of competition in today's youngsters. Consider a leading technology company, for example, Google. Its almost on par rival company is Microsoft. If Microsoft is only looking to make friendly relationships with Google, it will probably get as far as a good exchange of employees between the two companies in the hope of releasing same quality products to the world. However, despite having the best engineers on floor, without them having the competitive mindset to beat the existing state-of-the-art technology, they are bound to remain mediocre. From this example, clearly, the best way for progress is not laid down by just a sense of cooperation but a strong sense of competition along with it as well.

Admittedly, a sense of competition has its upsides in the way it pushes faster growth, be it in economy, industry and what not. However, competition without cooperation among peers will prove futile. To illustrate, consider a nation's president actively and passionately working towards a better economy for the country. In his/her attempts, if he/she propagates that surpassing all the other nations' economy is the ultimate goal, the other nations might take it as a threat to their economies and this might further damage the relationships of this country with the others. In times of need for financial or military aid, other nations might not be ready to help because of the previous hostile propaganda by the president. In order to maintain more amiable relationships with other nations, tomorrow's leaders should learn a sense of cooperation as well as competition.

In conclusion, we never know the future needs of our business or nation or any other field for that matter. Friendly relationships with other countries might come to our rescue at the time of calamities. At the same time, depending on other countries/businesses for every small need will keep the nation/business dormant without much real progress. For real development, the nation's leaders must aggressively work towards transcending other nations' economy and same goes for the field of industries. Hence, today's youngsters need a sense of cooperation and competition to become tomorrow's leaders.