Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

The statement claims that universities should mandate their students to take courses outside their field of study. Admittedly, trying out courses outside their field of interest will help students in gaining minimum knowledge in all fields. I, nonetheless, believe that making it compulsory to take courses outside someone’s field of interest will hinder a student’s development in their choice of field. Hence, I disagree that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

First of all, I would like point out that every student is passionate about a particular field of their interest and would want to spend most of their time in advancing in that field. For example, a student majoring in music would want to dedicate his/her time to learn the subtleties and nuances involved in playing his/her instrument rather than solving complex technical problem using computers. Or, literature major would not be interested in understanding the biological functions of human body organs. Although, the examples presented are a little too extreme, they clearly show how a compulsion on the kind of courses a university student will hold him/her back from doing what they really want to do.

Furthermore, the generic curriculum that forces students to take part in activities or programs that are not aligned with their interests would encumber their growth. To illustrate, consider a university that is a good amalgam of bright and dull students. Some students are experts in some field A and are looking forward to advancing in the same field while the same set of students are below average in a field B. Considering different levels of merit of these students, clearly, a generic curriculum for an overall development is not the best idea. The students who are not good at field A will be mentally down due to low grades while the same applies to the students who are below average in field B. From this example, clearly, the recommendation of requiring students to take courses outside of their interest and talent will prove futile.

On careful scrutiny, universities could come evaluate a recommendation that will truly be advantageous to both students and universities. The university could mandate a variety of courses in the freshman year to give the students a little taste of every field. In their sophomore years, students, after deliberating carefully, could chose a field that they whole-heartedly believe align with their interests. This method will prove far more advantageous than forcing students to take courses that are of zero interest to them.

In conclusion, students, under duress to take courses that they believe they are not meant for, will collapse under stress. Universities should not force them to take up programs outside of their curiosity boundaries throughout their college lifetime, Instead, universities should come up with alternatives that are conducive to students in choosing their long-term fields of interest, perhaps by introducing various fields to them in their first year of graduation. Without giving due consideration for students’ interest, mandating the fields to study will prove ineffective.