Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Contradictive views are important as they help humankind in achieving clarity in terms of concepts and fuels learning by pushing boundaries rather than inhibiting it. The reason for the claim is quite apt in pointing out that disagreement causes stress, but stressful circumstances are conducive to evolution and development.

Left and right-wing hold quite contradictory views, but both of them fuel each other by disagreement, by propelling each other for taking more pains to prove their stance is correct which has beneficial is for neutrals as well as academics in analyzing the situation. Hence, when we do more the concision for that particular idea increases which further fuels learning rather than inhibiting it.

Suppose two reverent scientists hold contradictory views on the composition and properties of a new chemical element. Both of them will be although distressed by such contradiction, it would also instill them with the willpower to learn more about the chemical element. The consequence of such a contradictory position is bound to allow us to learn more about the elements than we have by holding similar views. Hence, mankind has always learned more through contradictory views rather than sharing similar views.

Wright Brothers, known for their invention of the airplane, certainly held iconoclastic views on what mankind can achieve. Were they not ridiculed for their idea? Yet, they were able to revolutionize travel and transport to an insurmountable extent. Consequently, the contradictory views between society and Wright bothers sprouted extraordinary knowledge, thus thrusting the learning process rather than inhibiting it.

In some cases where the nature of people holding contradictory views is inimical, it can inhibit learning and the disagreement may not be limited to the benign consequence of stress. But, in a majority of cases, contradictory views have fueled learning. Perhaps, a more generalized way of fueling learning is through contradictory views.

Hence, to conclude although disagreement can cause stress it favors learning hence, we usually learn more from those whose views contradict us.