Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

People's perspectives differ in various ways depending on their prior backgrounds or their characteristics. While some may accord to our opinion, some may oppose to our opinions and unless it is regarding about scientific facts, it is difficult to decide that only one opinion must be right. I believe that people can learn from both according and opposing views and the reasons I believe upholds my claim will be discussed with further details below.

First of all, it is clear that by people can enhance themselves with those they share views with. Even though it is based on the same view, others may be much more experienced or are more erudite and because knowledge is infinite, there is no limit in achieving new knowledge. Discussing each other's knowledge may also give them the possibility to notice what they had overlooked. I would like to mention Baptists as an example. Baptist is one of the religion which diverged from Catholic and is known to be found in China and expanded to South Korea. At first, in South Korea, only a minority of people believed in such religion and many alienated the minority asserting that they are abominations of the pure religion. However, the minority who shared the same views gathered together every day and the senior would share newly achieved information freshly brought from China. Other novice believers became just as erudite as the senior believer and later expanded the religion to other laypeople. Eventually, majority of the people in South Korea are currently Baptists and has now become the most powerful religion in the nation. If the people who were Baptists in the past had not shared each other's information and constantly educated themselves from each other, it would have brought out a different consequence.

Furthermore, people are also able to notice the defects in their perspectives and broaden their knowledge by sharing their views with those who oppose. People who contradict also has a reasonable evidence that bolsters their claim. Even though some of their evidences may be an assumption or are unwarranted, still people would be able to either fortify their claim or change their perspective by sharing their reasons. For example, the environmentalists viewed that the environment is worth saving by spending every penny and effort on preserving it, while technology believers claimed that enhancing technology should be the prior concern regardless of nature being endangered by negative human actions. As people from both distinguishing points of view continuously discussed each other's view, they eventually converged into one decision which turned out be an efficient way in enhancing both technology and the environment.

To sum up, people are obviously able to enhance their knowledge from someone who is more erudite and shares the same point of view. However, they can also fortify their claims in a much more reasonable way or either divert it into a better claim by discussing their views with those who are in opposition. Due to such reasons, I believe that people can learn from both points of view.