Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The given prompt states that one can only learn from people who share similar views as ours and gives the reason that disagreement can be stressful and acts as an obstacle in our learning journey. I mostly disagree with the given prompt for two main reasons. However, I do concede that in some cases disagreement can cause mental stress to people.

Firstly, we can not learn much from people whose idea does not differ much from ours because if similar ideas are being discussed there is little room for learning. It is just plain discussion on a set of ideas rather than learning. For example, if some engineers get into a room and discuss how artificial intelligence is turning the world around, they might only look at the bright side of things such as how AI is transforming the world through automation. But if a person, who is from a different stream contradicts their views on the dark side of these technologies such as how AI and machine learning technologies are the reason why most of the people are addicted to their electronic devices and causing depression among people, the engineers might take this as an feedback and work on this things leading to betterment of our future.Hence, opinions that does not match with ours can be helpful and may eventually be used for a good cause.

Secondly, opposing ideas can be viewed as a learning opportunity rather than something that causes stress. For example, if a student participates in a debate competition, and supports the cons of a given subject, then when his opponents throw shade on the good side of that subject, he might get to learn something new and maybe he can retrospect his ideas which will help him to see the advantages as well as disadvantages rather than only the cons of that matter. Moreover, if a depressed person thinks he can never be happy in his/her life and keeps talking to people who share the similar set of opinions, might get more depressed and eventually take steps that are not good for him and the people surrounding him. In contrast, if he meets people who share opposite ideas, people who think happiness can be achieved through little things in life, may help that person to get cured which will eventually help him to grow in his life.Thus, ideas that does not go along with our fixed set of belief can be beneficial.

However, in some cases, contradicting views can result in lower self esteem and can cause stress to people. For example, if a person who has sheer confidence about his set of ideas and thinks he is always right, no matter what, might find it difficult when others do not agree with his opinions which can cause anxiety or depression.