Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Education is one of the most prominent building block of an individuals life.It not only shapes its character but influences what he wants to do, which career path he wants to follow. Hence, it comes as a great responsibility upon the the educators incharge of the curriculum to plan it in such a way that each child can get a chance to explore different fields. However, while planning courses the people incharge should plan it in a uniform way such that bits and pieces of every field of study is inlcluded rather than going by interest and suggestions of their students, so that the students get to learn about other fundmental concepts rather than suggest focusing on their interest.

I agree to that the fact that a child is more enthusiatic to study areas which interest him.However, this approach have two limitations.Firstly, an educational institution comprises of a number of students.If, the institution were to consider interest of every student and try to mold them into the course structure, it wouldn't be practically feasible and even if it is, would become cumbersume and difficult to handle.Secondly, Eduaction is all about opening students to new ideas.If students were to follow only according to their interest, then they would become rather narrow minded.Suppose, If a child is interested in sports and spends most of his time in the field, then he would be devoid of learning the basics of others subjects like maths and science which are essential in order to develop logical reasoning.

Also, Interests of children change over time .If they are interested in arts one day, they might start liking sports the other day. only by exposing them to different field, will they recognize where their true potential lies.Steve jobs, one of the pioneering personalities in the field of tech had passion for computer science but only by attending calligraphy class in college, did he recognize his creative side which help him in designing the font of the first apple computer.

In recapitulation, only by inculcating different fields and following a uniform path while planning the courses will benifit the children the most rather than going by their interests.