College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In my opinion students should pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs. I will support my point view by referring to mainly three arguments, the relation of performance and interest, individual freedom and job market uncertainty. Afterwards I will discuss some counterarguments and conclude to a recommendation for students.

First of all an individuals performance in a certain area highly depends on his personal interest and motivation. Curiosity increases intrinsic motivation, hence increases the ability to learn more about a subject and investing more time in total. Therefore by selecting courses based on personal interest the learning outcome is maximized. On an aggregate level such a behavioral rule might lead to an increased productivity over all areas, as students are more motivated in general. Second the decision on what career to pursuit, should not be determined by the financial outcome. Especially low income students that can barely afford tuition fees might have an incentive to focus on highly paid careers as they already accumulated debt. By determining the area of studying based on monetary incentives they somehow loose the right of determining their courses by themselves. Personal rights are quintessential for western democracies, hence students should be encouraged to use it. Furthermore future labor markets are uncertain. It is not possible to anticipate its future developments, so it is in particular not possible to anticipate which jobs are most likely to be the most lucrative. It might be a better strategy to stick to your own interests and strengths rather than gambling on uncertain labor markets. Moreover jobs do not particularly depend on the field of studying. There are lots of professionals, especially business people, that do not have a background in business administration or economics. Modern human resources departments so not only focus on students courses but also their personal fit, their experiences and other characteristics that indicate potential.

On the other hand every individual depends on a sufficient income, in particular those who have high debt due to student loans. By focusing on low income areas, that they are interested in, they risk low prosperity. Especially those who have multiple strength, might consider investing most of the time in the highest return strength.

Overall sticking to personal preferences is the best strategy to increase performance and personal freedom. However there is a significant amount of students with a high financial risk. Those need to find a solution between financial risk and personal development.