"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

The president of Humana University proposes to actively promote online degree programs in order to increase enrollment and solve the budget deficit. His opinion is shaped by the case of the Omni University, which increased their enrollment in online degree programs by 50% and decreased expenditures for dormitory and classroom space. However, his conclusion is built on some critical assumptions that might turn out to be wrong. Therefore, I will analyze those in particular and state why the opposite might be the case.

The presidents first conclusion is that by increasing enrollment in online degrees, overall enrollment will also increase. Therefore, he presents the example of Omni university which was able to enroll 50% more students in online degrees. However, this does not imply an increase in the total sum of students at Omni University. Meanwhile ordinary degree student numbers might have decreased, or ordinary degrees might have been substituted by online degrees. Hence his conclusion, that by promoting online degrees overall enrollment will increase, is not valid in all cases.

Second the president addresses the problem of rising expenditures in dormitory and classroom space. On the one hand the expenditures at Humana University have increased, despite the fact that overall enrollment is stagnating. This implies a more structural problem in the physical capital of Humana University. Possible explanations are old infrastructure that needs to be renovated from the ground, or opportunistic contractors for maintenance. Hence the financial problems that the president tries to solve by increasing online enrollment, will not disappear by simply reducing physical students. Moreover according to the last paragraph, the usage of class rooms and dormitory is not only determined by the online enrollment but in particular on the “ordinary” degree students. As the presidents aims at rising enrollment, the number of “ordinary” students might not decrease at all, which implies the same cost for maintenance as before.

All in all, the president’s proposal is quite in inconvenient. A well-suited prognosis requires more detailed information on the case of Omni University and on the question whether concepts learned from Omni University are directly applicable to Humana University.