Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

The question whether a leader who is quickly and easily influences by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little, is essentially shaped by the definition of leadership. Therefore I will first define the term of leadership, then I will analyze in which kind of situation the behavior presented in the statement might be beneficial or not.

Leadership is about aggregating the opinions and preferences of a groups individuals and implementing these by decision making, in a manner that benefits the individuals in the long term. There are two important components that shape leadership decisions: the followers preferences and the long term consequences of decisions. We will look on both of them in detail.

As good leaders are representatives for the group, they also represent the opinion of the group or at least its majority. Therefore, being influenced by popular opinions lies in the nature of leadership, although there might be exceptions to this rule (e.g. populistic leaders, fascists etc.). This also holds for shifts in popular opinion, that might appear due to new information or changed circumstances. Therefore, the above statement does not hold, regarding the effects of popular opinion and shifts in the majority opinion.

Second a leader has to determine his decision concerning its long term effects and the long term advantages. This implies the necessity of analyzing the reasons for short term shifts in personal preferences. As humans often react emotionally on changing environmental conditions, they might tend to overreact on them. Hence popular opinions tend to high fluctuations that might not have long term consequences. This effect implies that there are situations in which leaders have to deny course changes in order to stick to the long term goals.

In the last to paragraphs I explained two effects, that have to be considered in leaders decision making. As both effects are contradicting each other, there is no predetermined effect, hence leadership behavior depends on careful analysis of both effects. Leaders need to reveal the long term and the short term components of the groups opinion in order to determine a long term strategy. The long term strategy only depends on the long term component, the short term component has to be ignored. That’s where the above statement is right. Short term changes in popular opinion need to be ignored, to ensure maximum long term benefits for the group.