College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects which interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

While choosing subjects in college, the complicated issue that comes up is whether students should go with their own interests or take subjects that have demand in the job sector. Since it is obvious that no one can predict their future career, often students become puzzled about selecting an appropriate path for themselves. My personal perspective is that students should always prioritize their interests before choosing subjects in college instead of thinking about future job opportunities. I will support my point of view based on some reasons by developing logical motives to oppose the statement.

With increasing globalized economic competition, the job industry has become highly competitive as well as demanding in terms of skills and experience. If we emphasize these two sides, students should choose a course by analyzing the possibilities of professional fields in that course. Undoubtedly, financial security is the most important part of our lives because, without it, there is no point in doing hard work. Suppose a person has a deep interest in poetry and literature. But should he choose poetry and literature as his major, keeping in mind the job field of this subject? If he has other alternate options for a secured career, then it is wise to put this interest aside as a hobby or extracurricular activity. Furthermore, following interests and passions will have no guarantee of success. Often times, because of the pressure of life, interests are unable to last till the end. In that case, the better option is to stick with the demanding subjects that will ensure job security.

On the other hand, the most important elements behind a successful career are satisfaction, passion, and motivation. The idea of choosing subjects that interest you is specifically related to your future prosperous life because one would like to invest his valuable time in activities that he likes, he is capable of understanding, and he finds happiness doing. For example, a student selects Computer Science and Engineering as his major at university, keeping in mind that this particular subject has huge demand in the job industry. However, he is finding it very intricate when it comes to completing the courses in each semester and securing a good CGPA. Therefore, he will gradually lose focus on his career and fall into a hole of insecurities, full of doubts regarding his capabilities. As a result, he can neither perform accordingly in a competitive job market nor have a scintillating career. On the other hand, a student who has a great enthusiasm for CSE would find it easier and would wish to make more efforts to improve their performance and skills, which would lead to better job opportunities in the future. Job fields are competitive as well as unpredictable; changes in the demands of a specific topic can occur at any time. Even if the latter student fails to find a suitable job, he will have alternative options that can relate to his passion, inhibiting him from being demotivated and depressed.

Considering the scope of professional sectors, of course, it is essential to go with the popular major that will create more job opportunities. But without following one’s interest, it is quite difficult to perform well and become successful, whereas if one can move forward with the desired passion, one can end up with a victorious career.