Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Colleges and Universities are the holy places where a students develops cognitive skills, logical reasoning, and general understanding. Students learn most of their life long skills, abilities from colleges and universities as they are the final stages in shaping a carrier of a individual. The author asserts that academic institutions should urge their faculty to spend some time working outside the academic world in professions that are germane to the courses taught in colleges and Universities.

First of all, Faculty spending time working outside the world in professions can understand the practical use of the academics by self-observing the working platforms. They can have a profound insight of the actual relevance of the courses and can in longer run modify the course curriculum and guide their course as the the requirements in the professions. They can establish the relations with the individuals from the firms, industries and companies and ultimately increasing the chances of the students from the colleges and University to join them as intern, and some work experience. For example, Agriculture and forestry University of Nepal, has collaborated with PMAMP of government of Nepal, which takes students from university as research internee increasing the productivity and skill of both project and students.

Secondly, if a faculty spends time working outside the academic world in professions he/she can garner knowledge from wide range of areas enabling them to carry out a large holistic research projects that will be beneficial for community. It will help the faculty to have a integrated understanding of a topic and will develop the critical thinking and reasoning on their academics. He/she can garner knowledge from wide range of areas and can potentially guide children in paths generally not known by the academician. They can also derive out some potential areas that have not been explored and can be exploited which can potentially benefit the human beings. For example, if a researcher wants to do a research on climate he should collaborate scientists and professionals of different fields, to do these kind of integrated and holistic research the faculty should be able to understand other professionals relevant to their courses or research.

Thirdly, although spending time outside may be beneficial , however, in some cases the faculty may be attracted by the nature or salary for the other professions and may join them and this may impede in the process of teaching-learning. The faculty may not be able to able to understand or study the contemporary research ultimately reducing the level of education system. For example, a professor if works on a industry for more than say 5 years then the professor may lose credibility due to lower number of publication as he will not be able to perform research activity while working at the industry at the same time.

In conclusion, the benefits offered by requiring faculty to spend time outside working in the professional world outweighs the disadvantages offered. so, i mostly agree with the authors assertion and conclude that colleges and universities should require all the faculty to spend time working outside academic world.