Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

The writer contends colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach. I mostly agree with the writer's assertion. However, in some area, it can have detrimental effects in teaching learning activities .

In the field like civi engineering, when a faculty spends time working outside the academic world in profession relevant to the courses he teach, he collects plethora of practical knowledges, which definitely helps students to grasp the field. For example, while I was in doing my undrgrad, one of my teacher had starded to work in a construction company, comparatively before and after in classroom, after few months joining the company, he began more cognizant, and also started to explain the things more conspicuously.

Additionally, in the field of Foresty, when a faculty works in a forest related research organization, he can be familiar with the terms and condition of the forest. He can be more practical, more real situaltion oriented. For example, in my brother's university , a teacher began to work in an INGO which was especifically working in golabal warming and its effects on vegetation. When he was just in academic field, he used to just expain superficially in the classroom, but after when he worked in that INGO, he started to go more in depth of the subject matter. That difinitely helpled those students who were taking his lecturer.

However, in the field like language, the faculty shouln't be require to work outside the academic professions. That can adversely affect the classroom activites. In such field, the knowledge is based on books mostly, so if he or she is required to work outide, her or she may not get enough time to grasp the books, on the other hand, working outside won't help significant difference in ulplifting the knowledge of languge. So, students can't be benefited from that.

In sum, in some fields, it can be beneficial to require all faculty to spend time outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach, whereas, in some field, it may have adverse affects.`