Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position

There are many reasons for some college and university faculties to work outside the academic world.

The most important is that the responsibility of colleges and universities is to give enough education and skills to students who are the future employees of the society, thus making it necessary to provide students not only with theoretical knowledge but also with pragmatic skills required in the working scene. Teachers and professors with practical experiences in industry would give students more useful guidance, and students and society would benefit a lot.

Besides, there are many problems to be solved in practical use, and scholars are the engine to boost the technology development, but if the problems can not reach the sight of researchers, little progress will be made. Thus, scholars and researchers work in industry can notice those problems and help with them. At the same time, scholars and researchers can also be inspired through the experience, getting good ideas which lead to promising research directions.

Though there are plenty of advantages, it does not mean that all the faculties of colleges and universities should be required to working outside the academic world.

First of all, there are different kinds of disciplines, some need both theoretical knowledge and pragmatic, such as electronical engineering, computer science, architecture, and etc. But Some majors such as mathematics, theoretical physics, history, and so on do not have industry positions, what they need are just reading, researching, calculation, anything but no practical experience. To command teachers and professors in such fields outside the academic world is not reasonable.

Apart from different disciplines, faculties in colleges and universities have distinct positions. Teachers, researchers, and scholars work outside the academic world in relevant fields can of course benefit students, themselves, and the society. However, those who work as cleaners, secretaries, and so on do not need follow the suggestion, because there is no benefit for them, and even the normal working pace of the whole universities and colleges would be disrupted.

What is more, the energy of an individual is limited, and taking another job outside the academic fields can consume another part of time. Some teachers and professors in certain fields that are not so time and energy consuming may adapt to the suggestion, however, those who study in the time intensified subjects will find it is difficult to follow the rules. To this extent, the suggestion should be well considered.

So in conclusion, there are indeed many benefit to students, college and university faculties, and the society that college and university faculties work outside the academic world, however, the decision should be well considered, such certain teaching and research fields and categories of faculties should not be command participate in the program.