Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

faculties at colleges and universities utilize most of their time teaching the academic subjects. they hardly spend the time to work on their skills and upgrading knowledge about their academic courses. colleges and universities should definitely implement the policy of spending some time on the professions related to the subject that were being taught by faculties.

if colleges and universities make it mandatory for professors to have experience of professional field related to their teaching area, it would result in overall improvement of skill set and level of practical knowledge the faculties have had before. This will eventually help benefit the universities and colleges, as their professors will be more skilled and pragmatic in teaching. recently, At Maharaja Sayajirao university of Baroda at India as made an contract will Siemens industries limited to spend some time learning about the recent cutting edge technologies in advanced manufacturing and artificial intelligence. The response of professors who have undergone the process was really positive. most of them agreed that, they have improved the overall knowledge about their teaching areas.

Furthermore, spending some time beyond the monotonous acedamic work at colleges and universities might help faculties to relive from mundane task and rejuvenate their interest in teaching. After all, every person need some changes to make their work more enthusiastic. For example, the theoretical physic professor will be more than happy to work some time on the ongoing research on higgs boson particle at Geneva, rather than teaching the previous theories about atomic structure.

Sometimes, the process of working on other than academic job might be effective in a way that some faculties may tends follow the profession rather than teaching. Hence, colleges and universities should consider the period of time for which they want to allow the faculties to spend the time as profession.

To sum up, it will be certainly helpful to colleges and universities if they require all faculty to spend time working outside their academic teaching job, considering the period of time for which they want to allow faculties to pursue.