Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

As working outside academic environment seems to complement teaching practice, it might sound plausible to recommend faculty to be engaged in professions relevant to their subject outside the academic environment. However, such engagement have myriads of pay-off attached with it, that can make teaching more ineffective rather than complementing it.

Firstly, engaging in outside profession may prove difficult for the faculty to manage time between college and that profession as they have to fulfill their job decently once they take responsibility. Compromising on any job can hamper their reputation, and this pressure that comes with handling of both job might severely affect their teaching ability. Stress, tension and difficulty of time management might hamper the way they deliver the courses to their students. And if the income that they make from outside profession is more than the salary provided by college, they may choose the profitable profession in this pay-off, which can make them negligent in their duty as a teacher.

Similarly, engaging in more than one profession also leaves them with very narrow space of time to prepare the teaching material and this lack of time for preparation can dwindle their efficiency as a mentor. This can hamper students grade and when whole faculty of college are engaged in such jobs, the reputation of whole college might be affected. In my college, for instance, some of my teachers were allowed to be engaged in development projects outside the college. Though they were excellent teachers before they got engaged in the project, their teaching ability and regularity in classes dwindled drastically after that. So after an intense pressure from students, they were made to choose between the two profession when they decided to leave the college itself. So, if the faculty are allowed to work outside college their sense of responsibility decreases affecting the basic teaching learning activity itself.

The proponents of the above argument might argue that working outside the academic field helps faculty to amass practical experience that can aid in effectiveness of teaching learning process. However, in this twenty-first century we have ample of technology that can help faculty gather outside world knowledge and in many area of studies colleges provide ample of opportunities to gather practical experience inside college premise itself. In my own college, for instance, we had about 280 ha of land where one could plant any crop during different season to collect practical experience in agriculture. Whats more, we also had sophisticated labs inside college itself that faculty could use at any time to gather practical knowledge and that are rarely found outside colleges (or in other jobs).

So, though working outside college in any other profession seems to provide more practical knowledge and other complementary information, such practice come up with other harmful trade-offs that can instead decrease the effectiveness of faculty members. Therefore, it is always better for faculty to concentrate on their teaching profession and make it effective to benefit students and themselves.