Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In today’s society, it is very common for college students to travel abroad during their collegiate years. Whether this reason is for experience, adventure, or purely amusement is usually varied. The prompt suggests that universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country. I moderately disagree with this suggestion due to the fact that there are many implications associated with requiring students to study abroad; however, there may be a benefit of this experience for some students.

To begin, there are numerous majors within every university, and a significant amount of them may be disadvantaged by this required plan. One example of this would be pre-med majors. Pre-med majors are required to take an extremely heavy class load on topics like anatomy, chemistry, and physics. It is very common for a pre-med class schedule to be loaded and they would not have time to finish an undergraduate degree within four years if a semester abroad was required. This mandatory semester would in fact be disadvantageous to this group of students because pre-med students need a strong foundation in these classes I mentioned before in order to succeeded and this is not commonly found when studying abroad. The above example illustrates not only why requiring a semester abroad would not be possible for some students but also why it could disadvantageous and detrimental to a student’s foundation.

Subsequently, it is known that study abroad programs are typically quite costly and not every student may be able to afford this requirement. For instance, in a collegiate study abroad program, students are required to pay their normal tuition plus numerous fees that include, airfare, healthcare, and lodging when traveling apart from the group. These fees can amount to tens of thousands of dollars above the standard tuition amount. It is known that the United States especially struggles with the issue of student debt. Currently many students are not able to receive this secondary education because they can’t afford the tuition and adding this required abroad semester would surely cause tuition prices to rise exponentially. This point illustrates why requiring a semester abroad is not feasible in the financial aspect for many students and may cause a decrease in university enrolment.

However, study abroad programs are also referred to as “the best of experience of one’s life” by many students. There is countless study abroad options that not only are the experience of a lifetime but also excel knowledge of students. For example, it is highly recommended when learning a secondary language to travel to that country and immerse yourself in their culture. According to most language teachers this is the best way to become fluent in the language. In these cases, study abroad can be very beneficial to students and it should be recommended but cannot be required.

In conclusion, the topic of mandatory study abroad is very complex and can be seen as advantageous and disadvantageous. Numerous students may benefit from the experiences earned in their study abroad program; however, universities enforcing an abroad semester as a requirement would not bode well for the institution and could affect many students negatively.