Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

The opportunities provided by universities today have been copious. The availability of foreign exchange programs has enabled students to bag study opportunities on the other side of the world alongside their university degree. The prompt recommends colleges and universities to make semester-long foreign exchange programs mandatory for incoming students. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this suggestion and argue that students should not be compelled to opt for this program for two reasons.

To begin, it might not be possible for certain students to leave their hometown. Thus, imposing a foreign exchange program on these students forcefully would be a major concern from their perspective. For instance, if a student suffers from a medical condition that requires her to visit their doctor on a weekly basis to receive medical treatment, she runs the risk of relying on an unfamiliar doctor and receiving untrustworthy medical treatment from a foreign hospital. Not only is doctor reliability the issue here, but she may also be incorrectly treated with the foreign doctor misconstruing the translated medical records. The above example illustrates that promulgating a semester in a foreign country as a mandate would produce a paramount issue for a specific group of students. Necessity eclipses the importance of education. This decision might backfire, and block specific students from pursuing a university degree entirely.

Further, even if we assume that it is physically possible for all students to relocate internationally for one semester, it might be a hindrance to one’s career goals. For instance, if a student has been pursuing a research project at his university, he might only be able to pursue it when physically present at the university’s research lab. Publishing a research paper of his work in an estimable journal would require several semesters of persistent research. This publication is a requirement for certain reputable research positions, which he might be motivated to make the cut for. However, if he is forced to relocate for a semester abroad, his research would have to be put to a pause, and his career goal of diving into research might take a hit. Thus, as demonstrated in the above example, spending an entire semester abroad, that makes up for a major chunk of one’s college education, might not always be the wisest decision analogous to one’s career ambitions. By restricting future opportunities for students in this manner, the diversity of opportunities pursued from the college would also take a significant cut.

Of course, some argue that in our increasingly globalised economy, students would develop qualities and receive exposure that is integral to making career choices. However, isn’t making this a mandate making one’s career choices more parochial? And at what cost are we willing to compel students to pursue so? By providing students with the option of pursuing a semester abroad, one can opt to do so at their one will. One can opt to do so if it would be in line with their career ambitions. One can opt to do so if it would not be a major inconvenience. At this precocious age, people should be motivated to follow their inner voices. Passing mandates only restricts one’s true potential.