Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country

Study aboard has been trendy lately, it is considered as a good opportunity to experience a new culture and learn a new language. Indeed, for college students, it's also a decent idea that they can explore and get inspired from the journey. So, study aboard comes up to college students' minds first when they want to cultivate their second language. However, I believe that study aboard also has some negative impacts on those students. Colleges and universities should encourage students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country instead of requiring them to do so, and they should give them accessible ways to go studying aboard.

Two highs and one low are the negative impacts for both students and Colleges if they

require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country: High cost, high risk, and low profit.

Spending one semester outside the country costs a lot, as we know, the majority of the US college students have grants and jobs to support their college lives. In general, in order to survive, students need to have at least two jobs. So, under that realization, requiring them to study at least one semester out of the states sounds harsh unless schools pay for them. Moreover, being in a whole new place alone is highly dangerous for a teenager not only for the physical safety but also for the mental condition. Also, for the students, a half year is too short to actually learn a new language and have a deep culture experience. As a result, giving up on the jobs, risking your life, and not even learning new things well just to study a half year in a foreign country seems not beneficial for college students.

However, there are some positive impacts that people can't deny for the students spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country. For instance, the study could be the best life experience ever, or students might encounter some amazing adventures that would never be replaced. In conclusion, everything should have two sides, one is good, another is bad, but as a student, instead of requiring us to study out of the country, we should be able to decide what we want to study and so where we want to study.