A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your locality.Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory establishment?

The installation of a new company in a city is always a situation that raises discussion within the local community. There might be people that look it in a positive way and others that disagree with the idea. When it comes to a situation where a big factory might be constructed in my community I would probably support the idea, since it will generate jobs and create a better economical dynamic to the city.

One can argue that factories near a community would generate only problems to inhabitants. In general, the idea that people has about industries is that it explores employees and it is not health to natural resources from that place. In this sense, there is a perspective that industrial sector only brings bad aspects to a certain place generating a sentiment that factories are not welcome to be constructed near communities.

However, this perspective is based only in bad experiences related to this kind of business. Factories represents a good possibility to create jobs in a community. In many occasions, these companies need a certain type of ability from employees that is hard to find among community member. In this scenario, good companies tend to teach local people how to deal with certain types of technology that is necessary in order to work inside the factory. In this context, companies will not only bring jobs for a community but also know-how to inhabitants. Schools and local universities can have benefits from that since they might be able to develop laboratories and other spaces where students might learn and do internships from it. In these sense, a factory could represent jobs and knowledge to the community.

Moreover, the community might develop a good economical dynamic. A city that receives a large factory could have an increase in the number of other companies that has a business related to that industry. This aspect helps community to develop other activities that allow the city to become less dependent from that industry. In this sense, that could be created a work environment that is diversified, helping the city to have an interesting dynamic. For example, if a factory that construct cars would be constructed near my community, probably this means that many other firms would be present here, which is something I find interesting for the community as a whole.

When it comes to aspects such as the quality of the jobs or how concerned is the company to aspects such as environmental impacts, it’s necessary to consider that government and society are the better agents to supervise this kind of aspects. In this sense, everybody from the community would pay attention to the activities of the company and if the firm didn’t have compromise to the society and the nature surround it, certainly community would be able to stand against mistaken interest.

In conclusion, one can see only negative aspects in a construction of a factory next to a community. However, I do believe that it’s possible to have many benefits from this kind of business, such as increase in jobs, discovery of certain types of knowledge and improvement in the economical dynamics of the community. Certainly, society and government would work together in order to avoid mistaken conducts by the company.