A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your position.

Presents of large corporate structures in an area has always boosted wealth of the society living in this place. However, when plans for building a huge manufacture are announced, the society should take into consideration various prons and cons. This essay will discuss positive and negative aspects of the phenomenon as well as provide my opinion.

On one hand, large factories produce air and water pollution, which deteriorates the ecological situation in the neighbouring area. Therefore, the additional threats to the health of people that reside in a particular city arise, forcing locals to spend more time and funds on healthcare. This may also entail shorter life expectancy and worse financial situation, which may also lead to the increase in the number of criminal activities. For example, according to the New York Times report, the newly built factory for the battery production in Brighton in 2010 caused a severe form of cancer for a group of locals. Thus, the government ought to strictly limit the amount of emissions of every plant.

On the other hand, new manufactures create additional workplaces in the community. This means that the unemployment rate will be reduced and earnings of other individuals can be raised due to competition of the market of labour in the city. Moreover, general living standards are also positively affected, because more goods and services are consumed by locals. For instance, Tesla factory in a village of Texas increased the GDP per capita in that village in 2015. In other words, local economy wins from new plants in the area, provided that it is safe enough for the environment.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that economical benefits outweight risks for health conditions, especially when they are handled by authorities.