Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Grades are often deemed to be a useful tool to gauge student's ability; many universities, including even graduate schools, accept grades to analyze the ability of the students. Although there are some cases where grades and concomitant competition for such grades prove to be useful, I adamantly believe that grades deteriorates the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Granted, competition for high grades are useful to facilitate students to be apprised of, or to memorize, pieces of textbook information. This is because many exams are designed to give high scores to whom memorizes textbook informations well. Many asian university qualification exams, especially including those of Japan, China, and Korea, should instantiate this type of exam. In the asian university qualification exams, most questions simply ask whether a student is memorizing a specific concept. In conjuction with their highly competitive pedagogical ambience, the competition for high grades in those exams have significantly aggrandized the information asian students memorize. Therefore, as revealed in high scores of Asian students in international olympiads. asian students generally have higher average academic achievement level. Thus, the competition is beneficial especially in terms of memorizing.

However, it should be noted that blindly memorizing textbook information is not the goal of education. There should be numerous possible ideals for the purpose of education, but in general, the purpose of education is closely related to the academic success of a student. In this regard, it should be informative to deal with the case of the academic achievements in South Korea. As mentioned above, students in South Korea usually vigorosly participate in the compeition for high grades. Therefore, Korean students spend all the day memorizing textbook information rather than tasting the essense of the study by understanding the inter-relationship between those pieces of information. Because of this apparently demoralizing situation, it is now well known that the severe competition for high grades deflates the motivation of Korean students and make them to seek lucrative career paths in the end. Thus, competition for high grades deteriorates the quality of education.

Therefore, inveigling students to truly understand, not blindly memorize, information should be more useful to ameliorate the quality of learning. This is because the pedagogical goal can be achieved when students are truly understanding the knowledge taught in the class. For example, Einstein received low grades during his highschool and university period as illustrated in a myriad of his memoirs. Except for some classes such as differntial geometry and electrodynamics, he did not recieve "A." More notable thing is he did not compete for high grades. Nonetheless, his sincere understanding of electrodyanmics and thermal physics allowed him to invent the conept of special relativity, and now he is one of the most ascendent and venerated scientists throughout the history. As this example reveals, competition for high grades is irrelevant to the goal of education.

In brief, the educational quality is marred by competition for high grades and helping students truly understand the knoweldge is better way to increase the quality of education.