Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Historically, the advent of new leaders has entailed the introduction of a new tenor, and it is therefore debatable whether public demands engender leaders or leaders set public demands. Although there are some examples that reflects the former point of view, I adamantly believe that it is the leaders who creates the demands.

Granted, leaders are often created by demands, and this can be easily checked through the regime change that happened throughout the history. The change of presidency could epitomize this point of view, in that the public demand is reflected through the presidential election. For example, in case of dealing with Joe Biden, it is natural to conclude that the demand of the US citizens to stop the belligerent policies towards Arabian countries and retrieve the world-leading governance made Donald Trump to relinquish his presidency. As this example and the nature of modern democracy reveals, some leaders are formed by public demands.

Regardless of the previous case, there is a myriad of historical examples where public demands are formed by leaders. The example can be easily found from those of the pre-modern era, where it had been the monarch who set national motto and agenda. For example, it is needless to say that nearly all historical wars put the ruled class in a dire situation, and therefore it was not supported. Therefore it had in general been the leaders who demanded those wars.

In addition to this pre-modern examples, even the leaders of modern democratic society often sets the agenda and creates the concomitant demands. Take global warming as an example. Although there has been some scholars who consistently warned the global warming, it was actually the leaders who disseminated the issue and created the public demand to lag or stop the warming. The politicians, or leaders, of the western country deliberately created the policy to regulate the carbon emission, and these policies helped the public to understand the grave of the global warming. As this example reveals, even in the current democratic society, leaders often creates the public demands.

In brief, I believe that the leaders are more likely to create the demands, for it had in general been the monarch who sets the agenda for the ruled class, and even the presidents of the modern democratic society tend to set the agenda and create the demand accordingly.