“Critical judgement of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.”

when a piece of work in produced in a field, who is qualified to critique it? No doubt experts within the field have valid opinions, but who else? In my view, whether a critique from a complete outsider if valuable is a question that depends on the nature of the field, which requires more careful examination.

In rigorous sciences, laymen do not have much contribution. A few years ago, a folk scientist alleged that he had established the existence of gravitational waves. it become quite a story when a couple of years ago the gravitational waves was finally experimentally proven to exist. Media everywhere spread that folk scientist’s old story as if he was some sort of prophet. Insiders take him as, well, a joker. you can say black holes exist or do not; you can say whether the number of stars in the universe is odd or even; you can also claim that Einstein’s theory of relativity is right or wrong. you can say whatever you want, but it is does not mater, because science does not need opinion, but proof based on observation and sound logic. Anything involving flawed reasoning or incomplete data, no matter how correct it turns out, fails to stand as a sound theory. Thus, an outsider, without the necessary training or data, contributes literally nothing to this rigorous practice.

The complete opposite is professional sports. The year 2018 was the year of the soccer world cup, the festival for countless “soccer fans” who have only heard the names of two players. they randomly watched a game and decided to support, say, team Germany, and condemn the team for failing to qualify. Or they saw Mbappe, the promising kid from France, dive, and lambasted him for lacking sportsmanship. Or they watched the only game in their, the finals, and were convinced that the referee held bias against Croatia. do their opinion matter? These people hardly know a thing about soccer, but ironically, they matter, even more that those fans that have watched the Champions League their entire lives. Being the most influential sport on earth. soccer establishes its dominance not just because of its most loyas fans, but also because of its continual attraction to new fans. The world cup is a carnival for everyone, beginners or experts. The collective celebration, whether rational or impulsive, is what keeps soccer’s influence pervasive and persistent.