Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Everyone in an organisation would be torrid to contribute to solving problems and receive accolades from the colleagues as well as higher managment. However, not all the opinions are considered equally and some have an upper hand in deciding the future course of action. The prompt suggests that critical judgement from dabbler is accorded less importance than from a savant in the field. I agree with the prompt and feel that an expert in the field is valued more than a novice when it comes to critical judgement for the following reasons.

Firstly, an expert in a field will have a subtantial amount of track record that can be placed under the lens of scrutiny in order to determine if his critical judgement is sound enough and is free from fallacies. The opinion of the people about once past successes and failures plays as important role in how they receive critical judgement from someone. Since, people already know how a person has faired in the past and given an expert displayed sound critical judgement, they are more likely to consider the expert's opinions reliable. In contrast, if a critical assessment is given by a nondesript who is just getting started in his career, since people are not aware of the person's intellectual capabilities or the person does not have a proven track record, the folks around would demur to consider his judgement. They would instead view such assessment with cynicism. Thus, the preconceived idealogy that people have regarding experts would preclude them to accept critical analysis by an amatuer.

Secondly, people learn more from their professional careers than they do in their college education. And this learning happens passively, that is, they learn from their dialy experiences as time progresses. Since, an expert in a field is in the business for quite some time as compared to a dillatante, the expert is sure to have experienced enough of multifarious scenarios while solving problems. These experiences will make the critical judgement from the expert to consider multiple scenarios that definetely cannot be taught in a conventional college education curriculum. Having equipped with invaluable experience, an expert is definetely more qualified than a beginner and thus, his critical judgement is given more importance.

However, in the realms of discussion, we cannot ignore a few exceptoins. There are certain fields, especially in the field of Software Development, where we see amatuers making big impact in the world. One such example is Facebook. It was developed by a college dropout who barely scratched the surface of corporate world. Thus, in some fields, critical judgement of novices should be given more important where the opinions of experts look obsolete.

To recapitulate, an expert should be given more importance with regard to critical judgement as he possesses a proven track record as well as invaluable experience. However, in fields like Software Development, Technology, etc