Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Along with the technology developing, people find the world become more complex beyond their own knowledge. People would like to ask others to provide opinions and suggestions for the unknown field. Some people would prefer to get help from experts other than tyros in a field, as they consider tyros would provide less valuable judgement than experts. After weigh the advantages and disadvantages between suggestions from experts and non-specialists, I mostly disagree with the author’s opinion. As I consider the experts also have their limits and tyros could have brilliant critical judgement as well, contingent upon the different specific circumstance.

Admittedly, experts are admired and applauded as their rich experiences accumulated for years, experts have the fame of judgement and society works in a way which rely on their suggestions and policies. Nevertheless, one who works only in one or two fields would have his own limits as he may not has time to work in other fields, sometimes the opinion may not always right. Take president Hoover as an example. Hoover failed to help America recovery from the economic depression, as he insisted the market would recovery by itself without government interfere. However, his judgement on this issue was proved to be wrong after he was replaced by president Roosevelt. Accordingly, even the crucial people in a field would have wrong judgement as their limits and simple persistence.

Furthermore, tyros could also contribute excellent crucial judgement in some specific circumstances. For instance, one enterprise needs to launch a commercial champion target at young group. Compare an expert who accumulated ten years experiences and a tyro intern who just graduated from school, apparently the young person would have better judgement on this champion plan, as he would be more familiar with the mindset and trends among young groups. In this case, the experiences of the experts would generate huge generation gap with the target group, but the tyro would be the better choice. Besides the specific young fashion area, young leaders are generally considered to have more enthusiasm and willing for revolutionary, this is one of the crucial reasons for enterprise and politician in different fields would prefer to change their leadership after a period.

To conclusion, the weight of critical judgement from both specialists and non-specialists should be considered twice before one takes others' opinion, what's more important, one should have the ability of critical thinking to tell which judgement is considerable or not, but not only the opinions' origin.