"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. "

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

After World War I the influence of capitalism encouraged many corporations to enter into the market. This was accompanied by many nations turning towards mixed or purely capitalistic economies. Thus corporations became one of the major players in a nation's well being. Such private corporations usually have only one goal that is to maximise profits and there have been a large number of cases where the corporations follow bad practices to achieve their goals.

A really good example would be the food market, let us take a case study of KFC one of the most prominent food chains. This food chain is known for chicken which has pretty high demand. KFC to maximise profits would require a large number of chickens on daily basis, this requirement would never be met with the chickens normal reproductive rate. Its only made possible with some great research in growth and reproduction enhancement drugs for the livestock. These are actually dangerous, they artificially speed up the lifecycle of a chicken using drugs which would be indirectly consumed by the people, resulting in adverse effects on their health.

On a similar note the dairy industry uses drugs to artifically enhance the amount of milk produced by the cows, which cause alarming health effects, infants who have a fragile immunity system fall prey to this. There have been cases where doctors have suggested the use of milk for their children for their harmful effects.

Hospitals can be another important case study, In developing countries like India where most of the good facilities are only available in private institutions, medicine becomes one of the easiest ways to make profits. Thus hospitals have really high prices and because there is no other alternative makes the lives of lower-middle-class people miserable as they can't afford basic medical needs.

Corporations when uncontrolled in a mixed or a capitalistic setting would be a menace to the people if they are not moderated by the nation in terms of what ways they can capitalise profits.