"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. "

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

A corporation in order to maximise its profits tends to exploit any and every possible means of financial upliftment. According to the argument above, this mentality is at odds with the betterment of the general mass of the nation. This will be possible only if there was unilateral transfer of endowments from the general masses to the corporations and no feedback from the corporations to the masses, or if the transfer to the corporations exceeds transfer from it. Thereby, for the argument to be true many implicit assumptions have to adressed before it can be validated. Consider the following instances.

To maximise its profits, in very crude sense, a corporation will have to either increase the price of its commodity or increase its quantity. Let us look at quantity first, if it is to be increased then we need to first know what kind of commodity the corporation provides, say luxury products or normal goods and servies. According to an article published in Journal of Industrial and Organisational Economics, human resource increases if a luxury product providing company expands since to cater to their target consumer attention to detail and creativity is required which can only be accquired from humans. In case the commodity is normal then depending on the sector it can be either capital intensive or labour intensive. If it is labour intensive then employment will rise on the other hand, if not then it will be capital intensive and they will require financial support to increase profit. One of the means to this end is loan. Now, loans are the imperative gears in the national economic machine, they boost bigger forces of markets in the economy which incite a cycle of saving and investment. This leads to increased employment. Notice the common pattern, which is no matter what the route the corporation takes to increase its quantity, such that profit increase, it will boost employment. This boostsgeneral welfare of the nation at large.

Now consider that the price optimation route to increasing profits. If the price is too high then the corporation would sell anyting due to competition from other companies. Moreober, the range in which these prices can vary is controlled and kept in check by the market forces on work, so the consumer is not exploited generally. Thereby, even if the prices increase they only add to the gross national income.

Thereby, considering that maximising corporations' profits and increasing general welfare of the nation go hand in hand, the two are not only not at conflict but also depending on the state of economy maximising corporations' profits is even required for improving general welfare. o in conclusion, it is my belief that the desire of corporations to maximize profits creates is not in conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large.