"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. "

Money makes world go round is a very popular saying which has been proved right during the industrial revolution which gripped the world over the last century.Progress of capitalism into the 21st century in the rise of tech industry is a excellent example which further supports the idea .Hence i do not agree with the statement that large corporations impede the general welfare of the nation, in fact i would argue that large corporations have helped governments rapidly elevate the standard of living in general populous.

South Korea, A small country with limited resources was one of the poorest countries in world during 1946, However fast forward into 2016 , its been dubbed as one of asia's tigers and is considered as a economical powerhouse of the world, However looking back in the history of Korea we find the for profit organizations like samsung,LG ect have managed to pull millions of people from the grip of poverty by setting up industries which employ thousands of people, providing them employment and increased standard of living.

Big corporations also bring there expertise to help solve the challenges faced by the government in turn solving the real issues faced by the people in the country, Today's space technology has profound impact on everyday person be it communication,navigation, weather forecast ect. Elon musk's space tech company has managed to launch space crafts at much less price point than NASA was able to do. This saves taxpayers money and also helps solve many of challenges previously being solved by Nasa.

Big corporations also have many outreach programs where percentage of profits are utilized for humanitarian work, For example Google ,a tech giant donates laptops and free wifi to schools in deprived nations in Africa, an children represent future of the nations ,supporting them with education improves the society in the country.

In conclusion,Eventhough corporation by and large are for profit and making money is the primary objective, The corporations have embraced there resposibility in the society and have a positive impact on the life the people.