Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Discussing controversial or challenging topics should absolutely be discussed as it one of the key ways society advances. One should always be challenging their core beliefs to see if they are in fact correct or if there is a better idea or belief that can be reached in a civil discussion.

The Socratic method of debate has been used for over two millenium as tool for how to have a productive discourse and try persuade people. A deluge of brilliant ideas that challenge people's core beliefs and society as a whole has brought us. In the 16th and 17th century great mind in London, Paris, Vienna, and across the world were a hot bed for challenging new ideas, that brought about modern democracy, our current morality, and scientific breakthroughs that would never had existed if no one had thought to challenge the status quo. A more modern example would be the gay right's movement. over the past twenty years it has gone from a societal taboo to an accepted idea by the majority of society. Most of this progress came from discussions around the dinner table, bar booth, and long car rides.

All discussions don't have to be soley about challenging one's core beliefs. There can be a rich spectrum of beliefs and out comes. For instance, you may not be out to change their mind, but simply make them empathize and see a point of view other than their own. Another outcome is their could be a common ground and reach a synthesis of ideas. Your goal should not be to try and change their mind, it should be to get to the truth of whatever the topic at hand is. If the belief they hold happens to be the correct one, then after their belief has been held up to scrutinity and found valid it would seem they had the right idea all along.

This is all presupposed on certain understandings. Firstly, that everyone in the discussion is acting in good faith. If one side has some sort of ulterior motive in the debate, the debate will lose most if not all of its validity. Secondly, sometime certain people are truly set in their ways. Many Thanksgivings have been ruined by a serious and heated debate by two bull-headed people who ultimately went nowhere.

One should constantly be looking to discuss controversial topics it is beneficial to them as a person and to society as a whole. Our entire way of life as we know it has been built on people challenging the status quo and asking the "what ifs" that changed the world. The world is a much better place thanks to people entering into good-hearted debate.