Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

Going from simply wanting to cook our food and have fresh berries to harvest at winter's end, to traveling to the moon and trying to cure every aliment known to man, humans have always strived to better society. History has shown that time and again people, given a problem, will come together and try to solve it.

Since the beginning of written history man has always sought to improve his lot in life. Through this sometime selfish, sometime selfless desire to make problems easier or evaporate entirely, we have marched mankind to places our ancient primate couldn't even begin to comprehend. One could say if we compare ourselves to our ancient ancestors that we have solves all of society's problems in the way they would see of it; the majority of humanity eats well, has access to water, shelter, medicine, and no real predators any more. A cave man in 10,000BCE would probably imagine 2019 as utopia beyond his wildest imagination.

People by and large don't wish to willingly cause harm to others. They will often go out of their way to aid them if they can. History is full of brave men and women of science who gave their lives to help further our understanding and try to help society as best they could. Names like; Marie Curie, John Snow, and Alexander Fleming all dedicated their lives to try and improve people's lives with their discoveries. Today in some lab or lecture hall there is the Curie or Fleming briming with ideas on how to improve society with science.

That is not to say all progress is without its issues. Some inventions or discoveries have unforseen consequences, such as Alfred Nobel's invention of dynomite, he thought it would help mining and construction, he would famously find out in a premature obituary that the world saw him as merchant of death for dynomite had become widely used as an explosive for wars. Horrified by this Nobel went and founded the Nobel Prize, whose goal is rewarding those who further science and world peace. Science can also be deliberately misused such as in the case of Nobe Prize winner Fritz Haber, who discovered a way to manufactor vast quantities of fertilizer save millions if not billions from starvation, went and used this same process to help the German Empire construct bombs and explosives for the first World War.

There is a quote from the brilliant tv comedy Futurama: "Science isn't good or evil it is how you use it that is" No man is inhariently evil, infact most people given the opportunity would help others. We have come a long way since discovering fire, and may have a long way to go, but one day we will solve all problems before us.