Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

it is often said that history repeats itself, whether big or small history has been replayed again and again in ways that would surprise some. leaders would do well to study the past and learn from history's successes and failures.

Certain events seem to play themselves out continuously over and over, the German philosopher Nietzsche called this Eternal Recurrence. this is perhaps most easily exemplified in the saying "Never invade Russia in the winter." In the past two centuries, two massive and up until that point unbeatable armies, Napolean's grande Armee and Hitler's Wermacht, both met their demise at the hands of the brutal inhospitable Russian winter. Now not every leader deals grand military strategy and the fate of history weighing on their shoulders, a good leader will study the past regardless. they should look at leaders who bear honorifics such as "The Wise" or "The great" and see what they did to earn those titles. We can even go less grandios, if you're the manager or team leader in a company you should make it a priorty to looks at your predecessors and acestain what made them successful or unsuccessful leader.

A good leader is forever a student of history. Rarely is a problem ever truly unique. look back into history and odds are someone has been in the position as you. learn from that. what made them succeed? what made them fail? How can you improve on what they did? Many great leaders were themselves fascinated with history. The Emperor Claudius was himself a historian before donning the purple and he took what he learned and ushered Rome into a Golden Age after decades of neglect from his predecessors.