Some people believe that it is helpful to view a challenging situation as an opportunity forpersonal growth. Others believe that reimagining challenging situations this way occupiestoo much of the focus one needs to face challenges effectively.

There is a saying "attitude is half the battle" referring to your mental states when you take on a challange. Viewing a challenge as an oppurtunity to test youself and see what you are truly capable of. The results will often surprise you, yourself, the most more than anyone else.

You will seldom see athilets or politicains say they can't beat their opponent, for if they did they would more than likely lose the game or election they are in. If you go into a challenge with a self defeated attitude you've already failed at whatever it is you've set out to do. You should view any challenge laid before you as a change to prove yourself not only to the world, but to yourself. There are plethera of stories of people going far above and beyond what they thought they would be able to, runners who have shattered record times, soliders who pushed futher then they ever thought possible, students who scored higher than their wildest dreams. Do to them viewing what lay ahead of them as a chance to prove their worth and grow as a person.This mindset will make one try and see how far they can push themselves. Pushing themselves further and further then one who simply wishes to do their duty. With this mentality you will reach your natural peak as it were, seeing as there may be some task or challenge you simply can't beat and may never be able to. When you hit that you'll realize how far you've come.

There is a sort of rugid stoic beauty in viewing a challenge simply as a task at hand rather then a challenge, which in a cold logical sense it is. It conjures up a solider surverying a battlefield before entering the frey or a surgeon walking into the OR. However, humans are seldom cold logical beings, we as emotional creatures do need certain aspect hype if it were. An excellent demonstration of this would be the two great Roman generals Julius Caesar and Pompey the Great. Caesar's men were fanatically loyal and believed they could follow him to the ends of the world, whereas Pompey's men were simply doing their duty to their general and to the Republic. It should come as no surprise that Caesar won and ultimately overthrew the Republic on the back of his fanatical men and their self belief. This is a common trait among many of the giants of history, a fanatical drive where they want to see how far they can push themselves. This is how Everest was summited, this is how we landed on the Moon, this is how will launch ourselves into the stars.

One should always see any difficulty in their life as an opportunity for self growth and learning. If we never pushed ourselves we would never reach our full potential. If you view every challenge before you as not an obsticale before you, but a learning experience you'll go farther than you ever imagined you would.