Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The modern paleo diet, like all fad diets, has some basis in science, but picks and chooses, exaggerates, and misrepresents data to suit its needs. they promote all of the benefits without looking at or downplaying any of the negatives

Proponents of the diet like to claim our ancient ancestors knew something we didn't in choosing their diet. it is more likely that they were making do with what they had. it isn't like today where one can drive down to the supermarket and pick out any food one's heart desires. neolithic humans ate what they could literally get their hands on. food was scare in the Stone Age, and all the effort it took to bring down game back then meant that nothing was going to be wasted. So early man would use every single part of a kill. we today can afford to throw away bone and entrails, whereas our ancestors had to get every calorie they could out of an animal. if through some magic or science we brought a neolithic hominid to today. they would probably not choose to continue eating every part of the animal, instead opting for the more desirable cuts of meat simply because they provided more calories and generally taste better.

they make claims that bone broth has several healing powers, relating to joint health, help with brain activity, and cut down heart issues. Realistically, this would have little to do with diet and everything to do with early man's physical activity. our ancestor's didn't sit at a desk job for eight hours a day, they exhaustion hunted and performed hard manual labor. Supports only have anecdotal evidence to back up these outlandish claim. There are however, concrete facts such; our ancestors being significantly shorter and living only shorter less healthy lives then we currently do.

The placebo effect is also probably in full effect here. if you are eating a diet that is supposedly far more healthy for you, you will probably actually feel more vigorous. one must also not forget that by going on a diet one is making a conscious decision to monitor what they eat, and are thus much less likely to eat unhealthy foods.

While paleo does have some benefits, they are wildly exaggerated to the point of being lies. what is more likely happening is that dieters are now more conscious of they consume. Until dietians come out and say that we should live like our primitive ancestors, I'll personally be sticking with healthy varied diet afforded to use in these modern times.