Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree Be

The prompt suggests that controversial topics discussed between those with contrasting views is useless due to very few people changing their mind when questioned about their beliefs. I mostly agree with the claim and will elaborate on the necessary points to defend my stance.

Firstly, political discussions about controversial topics like abortion can be unproductive in changing the opposing side's mind. People tend to feel very strongly about topics like this and are highly unlikely to change their beliefs. For example, people arguing for abortion are in favor of women having a choice to end their pregnancy. People arguing against abortion are talking about how it is a human rights issue. Facts have been presented on both sides of the argument and status quo has not been reached on this issue yet. Most people's minds have not been changed on the topic even after it went to the supreme court.

Secondly, aside from abortion, another controversial issue spoken between those with contrasting views that is unlikely to change anyone's mind is solutions to climate change. There is no doubt that the climate has changed over the years; however, due to the failures with 'global warming', people on the opposing side remain skeptical to its validity. Further, the proposed solution 'the green new deal' has been highly controversial and many opposed this proposal. Also, those opposing the green new deal argue that it would put our country in an enormous debt that will not be able to be repaid for multiple decades.

Although, in contrast to my stance on the topic, these types of conversations can be productive if both sides have an open mind. If both sides stick to speaking about facts instead of getting personal, these types of conversations can be very helpful. However, when it comes to the controversial topics I've brought up, these can become disastrous quickly. Since people believe very strongly on either side of the argument, it is easy for personal insults to become a part of the conversation. Thus, it is better to avoid controversial topics with those with opposing views since not many people will ever change their stance on something they feel very strongly about.

Conclusively, although it is true that these conversations can be a learning experience if the topic remains on facts, these conversations can destroy relationships between people who were once close. Since these conversations are useless most of the time, they should be avoided.