Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions, such as community colleges and universities, are a rite of passage for many to advance or start their career. The statement affirms that these educational institutions have the responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed in. Contrary to the statement, I believe that educational institutions do not have the responsibility to change the mind of students, but rather guide them and give them the resources and tools necessary to make their own life choices.

Firstly, the responsibility of educational institutions should lie in best preparing students to be successful in whatever field they choose. Critics of this point might say that it is hard to choose a career path and that many students regret their choice of university major, therefore the school should have a say in where the student might fit best. While this critique can have the student’s best interest in mind, if the university tried to sway the student into a certain career path, the consequences could be far worse than imagined for the university and the student. For example, let’s say a student that is an art major is deemed unqualified by the professors and is told that they would succeed in mechanical engineering; the student obliges, but then ten years down the line, they are miserable as a mechanical engineer and wish they could have been an artist instead. In this scenario, the student does not make a lot of money, therefore they are unable to donate to their school. what if this student was the next Picasso? The student would become rich and be able to donate money to the school of arts.

Secondly, dissuading students is biased, and a system of any kind, especially and educational system, needs to be unbiased in every shape and form. Regarding the original claim, how is potential success measured? Another reason why I disagree with the claim is because there is no empirical way of knowing what student should be dissuaded. One might say that grades and GPA could be metrics that show if students are qualified for their specific field. it is erroneous to think this because the lives of students come in all shapes and sizes. if a student is working two jobs on top of going to school full-time, then there is the probability of them struggling to keep high grades lower. The student should not be swayed from leaving their field of study just because of low grades because said student can have an exponential passion for their field of study but are unable to put in enough hours of studying because of personal reasons.

Overall, if the student is logical, and they see that their grades are suffering then they will make the decision to switch majors. if the student’s grades are struggling for reasons other than personal, then they probably are suffering mentally and emotionally. In other words, they are unhappy in their field of study. if the student switches major, it should and will come from them, and whatever they choose, the school should only be there to support them and do everything in their power to make sure the student is happy and succeeds.