Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

From the beginning of educational development, the system emphasized on helping students to pursue their dreams and be successful on their path. That is why, almost all the institutions focus on teaching and educating students relentlessly and with no obligations. Furthermore, education should be facilitated in such a way that allows students to try different subjects and learn about different fields. Historically, this method seems to be the most influential way to help people follow their dreams or find their new passions.

I strongly believe that schools should not dissuade students from studying the fields that they might not be successful on. This gives the institutions an unnecessary power to decide for one’s future, especially since no one has the ability to predict the future. Schools’ mission statement should prevent any teacher or instructor preventing students from doing or trying something new. Albert Einstein was a high school drop out because the principal made a decision that Einstein is incapable of handling school material and is unable to continue his education. However, the school failed to realize and discover Einstein talents, thus, they were unable to provide Einstein with adequate materials that allow him discover his passion. That is why the academic institutions should never decide the future of a student by persuading or dissuading them from following a specific field. However, it should be the other way. Rather than interfering with people’s decisions, Institutions should only provide an opportunity for everyone to try different subjects and discover their talents. They should facilitate an environment that focuses on educational motivations and learning opportunities. Schools are the only places where students can switch between different subjects and areas, and learn which path they are gravitating toward. Furthermore, I am partially supportive of the idea of making students try fields that they are not interested in. I love how undergraduate schools, make general subject classes as requirements for graduation. This should motivate the students to step out of their comfort zone and learn about topics that they never get the opportunity to learn.

Here therefore, having said all the reasons why I agree with the topic, there are going to be some people who are going to detract my argument. Sometimes students pick a random subject and try to continue on that path. However, there might a counselor who is an expert in his/her field and strongly believes that a particular student will be more successful in a different path and the student is not aware of the alternatives. In these situation, students may or may not benefit from the school attempts to dissuade them from a field of study with the hopes of better achievements. However, even in these situation, the school’s power of dissuasion someone from something should be limited.

Therefore, in general, schools should avoid dissuading students from pursuing a field of study solely because there is a chance that the student might not succeed. However, what schools can do is to provide students with all materials and resources that one might need, in order to make sure students are aware of their decisions’ consequences and are able to find the right path in order for their future.