Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational institutes are responsible for dissuading students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. Educational institutions are aware of a students academic performance, so they are able to guide the students on the basis of their performance.

Although, success of a person cannot be determined by their academic performance, but their potential for success can be assumed by taking into account extracurricular activities or aptitude tests or personality tests. Educational institutions have valuable information on the students which, if used effectively, can help a student choose the most successful career path available to them.

The aptitude of a student to succeed in a field should not be the only factor in deciding the field of study. Preference and interest should also be taken into account.

Most students only consider their interest in a subject when deciding on a field to study, thinking they will be able to work hard to be successful. For some it works, but others are not so lucky. That is why students should consider their aptitude and interest when it comes to pursuing a field of study. When an individual has to decide on a field of study, they have spent most of their time in an educational institute. As these institutes are aware of a students interest and performance, they are an appropriate authority to help students in identifying the fields of study they should pursue.