Educational institutions have the responsibilty to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.
I agree with the assertion that Educational Institutions possess the responsiblity of preventing students from pursuing fields of study in which they may seem unlikely
to succeed. However, this depends on many factors: The type of Educational Institution, basis of grading or determining the quality of students, what restrictions
the institute imposes on student's choices in choosing a field.
For Example, if institutions like primary schools and secondary schools who preclude students who have scored lesser grades then there contemporaries in taking a field
of their interest is not judicious. There may be a possibilty that, the subjects offered at that time by the institute were not in interest of the student who
achieved lesser grades in that term. The student may have good knowledge in the the field he/she wants to pursue and may succeed in future by opting that area of study.
On the other hand, in universities where there are a huge variety of diversified fields of study, there are many cases possible:
If the fields of interest vary broadily For instance, If a student of Arts or management wants to pursue String theory is totally unacceptable and such a request
should not be considered by that university.But if the fields of Interest are similar, For Example an IT student wants to pursue an elective of his/her choice of Business
analysis and optimization but is not able to opt it because of the restrictions imposed by the university does not accompany the aim of education.
In sum, we can say that the such power of Institutions should be given only when the organization feels that the field of study differs completely and will ruin the
pupils future, but should not be given in cases which seem to fetter carrer opportunities of students and hamper their future.