Educators should find out what students want to be included in the curriculum and then offer it to them. Write a response in which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Designing the curriculum is the job of the education department of any nation or state. Often while finalising any curriculum the education board takes into consideration the opinions of the professors of the respective field of study. The prompt here is trying to address this issue by saying that educators must find out what students want to include in their curriculum and then offer it to them. I mostly disagree with the author for two reasons, however, I do concede that we should at least hear out what students have to say about their curriculum before finalizing it.

To begin with, the education board of any nation or state comprises different subject experts and working professionals as well. One person never finalizes the curriculum. Different opinions, thoughts, and past experiences of these experts are taken into consideration and discussed among them. So it is safe to say that these people know what they are doing. For example, for the next academic year, the physics department of all the state colleges has to revise their curriculum. While doing so, physics faculty from all the colleges will be gathered, along with the management people of the education board, during this meeting, for the new curriculum, the previous one will be analyzed, its drawbacks or shortcomings will be discussed and also if there is any update in any field of study, that should be included or not will be discussed. In short new curriculum will be finalized based on updated topics, and also based upon the caliber of students, these will be divided into different grades. If it were asked to students as to what they want to add to this curriculum, they might not have been able to decide that, that is because they don't have that much experience in the respective field of subject. Also when it is asked to students there is a possibility that they will consider only their capacity of learning the topic, which will make it difficult to divide the subject topics in different grades. A professor is an experienced person, who has taught many students in his/her career and is updated to the latest topics of study in the subject. So they will have good judgment on which curriculum will suit the majority of the students.

Another drawback is, that if we consider every student's opinion, it is possible that everyone's wish cannot be fulfilled. For example, consider there are 500 students in one college and there are 100 such colleges in the state, and even more in the entire country. Approximately number of students is greater than 50,000 students. Even if we conduct surveys and take into consideration every student's opinion there is a possibility that these demands will slightly vary from each other and it will become difficult to fulfill all the demands at once. Therefore the decision about the curriculum must be made unanimously and by taking the majority of the concerns and relevant topics into consideration. Professors and working professionals in their respective fields of study will be the best people to do so.

However, I do feel that students' opinions cannot be ignored completely, because they are the ones who eventually have to study that. To do so one can make sure the opinions, ideas, or thoughts that we receive from the students are recorded somewhere. The ones that are relevant to the study and can help students improve their skills in the respective fields should be considered. Now It is up to the educators how they integrate these ideas and thoughts into the curriculum. For example, one can conduct a survey and get feedback on the current curriculum and questions such as the difficulty, relevancy of the topics to the subject, satisfaction about teaching, thoughts on including new topics to the subject, and how the existing teaching method can be improved, etc can be asked. Again with that said there should be some planning on how to integrate those ideas to improve the curriculum.

In conclusion, to improve the overall student learning experience we can integrate their ideas into the curriculum to some extent if not entirely with proper planning and execution.