Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Surely it is not uncommon that education through well-known facts results in effective learning and development of a student. Such facts help students understand various topics and concepts in the course of their curriculum in a better way. However, if the students are not familiar with the basics of the concerned facts that educators attempt to convey, they might not be able to understand the significance of other related concepts relevant to these facts. Thus, I would strongly agree with the suggestion that educators should teach facts only after the students have understood all the concepts and ideas that form the basis of such facts. I would like to argue in favor of the above stated suggestion because of four reasons.

To begin with, if an educator teaches a fact that the student has no basic knowledge about, then it might result in incomplete understanding of the subject. Since the student has never come across the domain of the concerned fact earlier, he may not completely understand the relevance of the fact and the significance of various concepts that it involves. For example, consider an educator teaching students about the fact that, before the early 17th century, it was considered that the earth is at the center of the solar system and the sun and all the other planets revolve around the earth. A student who has no idea regarding the significance of this fact might attribute the reason behind this to the lack of technology and scientific development in that era. However, the true reason behind this was the religious beliefs of orthodox and dogmatic people of that era, who opposed Galileo’s cosmological model despite scientific evidence being available. The student will thus, develop an unsound convention in his mind. The above example illustrates that a student might sometimes misinterpret or may develop an incomplete understanding of a few ideas if he or she does not have any knowledge about the fundamentals of the fact.

Further, even if we assume that the teaching of facts without the students having the knowledge of basic concepts does not result in incomplete understanding, there are several other reasons that need to be discussed. Firstly, Students ‘enjoy’ studying such facts whose basic concepts and ideas are familiar to them. It is imperative that they find such topics easy to go on with because they are accustomed to the details relevant to the respective fact. For instance, consider an educator edifying his students about the fact that the risk of investment in stock market is directly proportional to the amount of money invested. A student who has studied the concepts of stock market investment risk might enjoy learning about the concerned fact since he is already familiar with all the axioms of stock market investment. Such a student may find it easy to understand all the points that the instructor is trying to convey as compared to a student who has no knowledge of stock markets. This illustrates that students seek pleasure in studying facts they are already familiar with, which causes them to study the concerned topic by putting all their heart and soul in it.

Lastly, students with strong fundamentals and an informed knowledge base are at an advantage of developing good analytical skills. Students who have previously studies the concepts, trends and ideas surrounding the fact can think for themselves and analyse the fact from all possible angles rather than just simply accepting what is professed by the educator. For example, a fact like, the modern technological devices makes use of microprocessors rather than traditional circuit boards, might cause individuals with a good knowledge base to question the reason behind this argument. Rather than simply accepting what was taught by the educator, the students can think about what different component does a microprocessor have that makes it more effective over traditional circuit boards? Students are able to develop a strong sense of reasoning if they are taught facts whose fundamental concepts are clear to them. They are able to remember such facts for a longer time as compared to the ‘uninformed’ students and are also able to incot the applications of such facts in everyday life.

One might argue that educators might waste a lot of time if they were to teach right from the basics. In that case, it might be possible to ask students to learn about the basics as a part of their assignments or home work. Examining various factors and arguments involved with the given suggestion, it is clear that students are likely to be benefited if educators teach them facts after they are familiar with the relevant concepts and ideas. They are likely to enjoy what they learn and understand its significance in practical day-to-day life.