Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In today's world, students are bombarded with humungous amount of information than ever before. While some of the information is processed with ideas, trends and concepts behind these facts, the other information is consumed directly without paying attention to the concepts behind those facts. The prompt recommends that educators should make the students understand the ideas, trends, and concepts that are part of the facts rather than teaching only the facts. I agree with the prompt for the following reasons.

To begin with, the minds of the students, especially adolescents, do not focus on one thing even for a short period of time. The world inside their minds is so tumultuous that it would astound their parents to see such disorderliness if they have the means to measure it. Thus, to grab the attention of the students in the classrooms, it is important that teachers deliver facts in the most engaging manner. If the teacher only teach facts, the students quickly lose interest in such edification. They become so disinclined to learning that they begin to ponder upon why are they learning anything in the first place. This feeling of apathy will only intensify and lead to giving up education altogether. In contrast, if the teacher first states the ideas, trends and concepts behind the facts, it first arouses the curiosity in the minds of the students and makes it interesting for the students to study the facts eventually. Such instruction will capture the vagarant minds of the students and keep them focused on the facts being taught that will help them excel in life.

Moreover, such kind of edification, that involves analyzing the facts in different ways, can espouse the development of critical thinking in the students. It is very important that the teachers instigate critical thinking in the students as ratiocination is very important to solve real-world problems. Stating the ideas, trends and concepts related to facts will coerce the students to use their minds to analyze the facts and arrive at conclusions. The way the facts follow from ideas, trends and concepts will also aid the students in their professional careers when they use similar way of arriving at conclusions when solving real-world problems. Therefore, it is imperative for the educators to teach facts only after making the students advertent about the ideas, trends, and concepts behind those facts as such teaching will foster ciritical thinking.

However, in the realms of our discussion, we cannot ignore a few exceptions. When the students are dealing with a particular field of study and at some point, it is required for them to know fact from a different field of study, it may seem futile to completely understand that subject. In such scenarios, it would be more wise to only know the fact and cosider it as tenet so as make a considerable progress in the field of study of actual interest.

To recapitulate, it is important for the educators to first teach the ideas, concepts and trends behind the facts as such style of instruction will keep the students engaged in what they are learning and also helps to develop critical thinking in the students.