The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some may say that the effectiveness of a country's leader could be best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens, but such approach is one-dimential, failing to understand what leadership is about, and is based on the false assumption that a single leader alone could dramatically improve the lot of people.

First, measuring the effectiveness of a leader by looking into how well of the citizens of his or her country are is too subjectve. How do we measure the well-being of people? Some may argue that the well-being of a country' citizens could be objectively measured by how much income they earn or by looking at the GDP of the nation. However, we must remember that studies have found that there is not a clear correlation between the income level of people and happiness. Often, studies report that People in Nepal, a small and economically underdeveloped country in Asia, ranks the top in regard to their satisfaction about life in general. Also, the economically developed countries suffer from high suicidal rates. Thus, measuring the well-being of people could be an evasive task.

This leads us to the next question. Then why does people in Nepal find more satisfaction in their life compared to citizens of other countries? Is it because of the effectiveness of their leadership? Although nothing can be said conclusively about what attributes their positive outlook on their life, it may has to do with their history, culture and religion in general. A people group may have a distinctive approach to life shaped by its history, culture and religion. It can be hardly imagined that a single leader could exhort his influence over people in a such radical way as to change in a very short period of time people's worldview. It takes the whole society, from its leaders and the average citizens, for a society to experience transformation in its understanding of what constitute good life. Thus, measuring the effectiveness of a country's leader fails to account for the fact that the definition of good life is formed through discourse among members of a society.

Lastly, measuring the effectiveness of a country's leader by measuring the well-being of that country's citizens does not consider the fact that a leader of a nation may influence the well-being of the citizens of other nations. For example, a country may remember a certain leader cherishably because under his leadership, the country experienced an ecomic boom. What is that economic boom was built upon the sarcrifice of other nations? Thus, in evaluating a country's leader, we must be careful not to limit the scope of evaluation to the effect he or she had on a single nation, but we must take note how that leader countributed to humanity in general.

Because measuring a leaders' effectiveness based on the well-being of that country's citizens is a subjective task and one-dimentional, we must take more holistic and multi-dimentional approach in evaluating the effectiveness of a reader.