The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

As capability of a country`s leader is discussed more and more frequently these days, people start giving certain standards to assess the effectiveness of a country`s leader. Since economic plays a big role in people`s life; and business is the subject that related to people on daily basis; thus, there is a dominate statement, “the effectiveness of a country`s leader is best measured by examining the well-being of its citizens.”

I believe the financial well-being of its citizen is an important criterion on assessing the effectiveness of a country`s leader, however, it is not always the best. one might argue that, in America, president Franklin Roosevelt is famous for save american from the great depression in the 1920s; in eastern word, Xiaoping Deng the national leader in china during 1980s was glorified by his economic reform to help china get back in track on business. Both leaders from different worlds were going down on history based on their great performance on citizen`s well-being.

The financial well-being is significant for leaders, as Maslow`s Hierarchy of needs defined that physical needs is the first basic needs of human being. however, on assessing effectiveness of a leaders, it might not always work as the best measurement.

Abraham lincoln, the 16th american president. he is regarded as one of the greatest presidents in us history; unifying a fragmentary nation overcame the impending threat of separation through Civil war and emancipating black americans to their freedom. during his tenure, there were conflicts after conflicts; and at last, a war was taken place in the continent of us between americans, 50% of men in north and 75% of male from south joined in the battle. business shut down, economics was plunged down. The people of the country during that time could not even assured whether they will be breathing the next morning, let along its well-being; but the unity of us as one nation was assured, and black americans freedom is secured. If using the well-being of citizen as the measurement of assessing lincoln, he is nowhere close to a good president; but the unity and freedom are more worthy to take into account of assessing the effectiveness of lincoln.

history also has shown that enhanced well-being of citizen does not determine a leader to be great.

When 1932 nazi came in charge of power in germany, germany was at its economical lowest point affected by the great depression. Its unemployment rate was at daunting 30%, the highest in history. The leader of nazi germany, adolf hitler started his economic plan of revitalizing the economics of germany, in less than five years, the unemployment rate is relatively extinct and less then 10 years, the average wage is increased by 75%. The extraordinary economics performance had made germany from poverty to one of the strongest nations in the world in less than 10 years. however, the world war II, the catastrophe of human being, the genocide, the destruction of the world was caused by the very same leader, adolf hitler. Despite how well he performed economically and regardless of how wealth germany people were during his regime, he will never be regarded as a great effective leader.

Well-being is what leaders always pursue to bring to its citizens, and it is an important measurement for examining a leader`s effectiveness; however, history has proven that as a leader there are more valuable criterions that could fairly determine a leader`s effectiveness; and well-being simply not always the best one.